We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Liberal Democrat retains the Leadership of MBC

May 24, 2019 10:37 PM

Maidstone Lib Dems are delighted to have retained leadership of Maidstone Borough Council following May's elections which had again resulted in no overall control.

At the AGM of the Maidstone Borough Council, on 18th May, Martin Cox, the Lib Dem leader gained support from Labour and Independent councillors to retain his position of Leader of the Council. Lib Dems nominated and The Leader of Independent Group - Deputy Leader Cllr Fay Gooch and Leader of MBC Cllr Martin CoxFay Gooch who has retained her position as deputy leader of the council - She was unopposed.

In the elections Lib Dems held all contested seats except North where an administrative error led to Rob Field being Ineligible to stand.

The results below show the outcome for each ward, showing a very strong performance for the Lib Dem candidate in each seat contested


Liberal Democrat Cynthia Robertson 1180

Con 505

Lab 159

Grn 189

Coxheath & Hunton

Liberal Democrat Richard Webb 1223

Con 753

Lab 134


Liberal Democrat David Naghi 942

Con 568

Lab 256

Grn 223

High Street

Liberal Democrat Dinesh Khadka 852

Con 360

Lab 346

Grn 219


Liberal Democrat Susan Grigg 390

Con 218

Lab 25

Grn 80


Liberal Democrat Brian Clark 1332

Con 561

Lab 154

Grn 128

Ind 94